Nevada Domestic Violence penalties are based on a minimum-maximum system and become more severe based on the nature of your Domestic Violence offense.  For instance, the penalties for your first Nevada Domestic Violence offense are not as severe as the penalties you would face for a second or third Domestic Violence offense.  Additionally, Domestic Violence charges and penalties become more severe if your offense involved a weapon, strangulation, substantial harm or obviously death.  Below are charts outlining the penalties you will face for a Domestic Violence conviction in Nevada.

Domestic Violence   Penalties – First Offense (Misdemeanor)
Minimum Maximum
2   Days in Jail 6   Months in Jail
48   Hours of Community Service 120   Hours of Community Service
$200   Fine $1,000   Fine
Domestic   Violence Counseling (one class per week (at least 1½ hours) for 6 Months) Domestic   Violence Counseling (one class per week (at least 1½ hours) for 12 Months)
$35 Administrative Assessment
Drug/Alcohol Abuse Counseling (Court’s   discretion)
Domestic Violence   Penalties – Second Offense (Misdemeanor)
A DV Charge is   enhanced to “second offense” if a prior DV conviction was received in the   preceding 7 years.
Minimum Maximum
10   Days in Jail 6   Months in Jail
100   Hours of Community Service 200   Hours of Community Service
$500   Fine $1,000   Fine
Domestic Violence Counseling (one   class per week (at least 1½ hours) for 12 Months)
$35 Administrative Assessment
Drug/Alcohol Abuse Counseling (Court’s   discretion)
Domestic Violence   Penalties – Third Offense (Category C Felony)
A DV Charge is   enhanced to “third offense” if 2 prior DV convictions were received in the   preceding 7 years.
Minimum Maximum
1   Year in Prison 5   Years in Prison
No   Fine $10,000   Fine
$35 Administrative Assessment
Drug/Alcohol Abuse Counseling (Court’s   discretion)

NRS 200.485

Possible Additional Las Vegas Domestic Violence Penalties.

In addition to the above penalties, you may receive additional penalties depending upon the jurisdiction that your Nevada Domestic Violence offense was committed in.  For instance, you can be arrested and charged for Domestic Violence in the City of Las Vegas, the City of Henderson, the City of North Las Vegas or in unincorporated Clark County, Nevada.  Some jurisdictions impose additional Domestic Violence penalties that could be added to your Domestic Violence sentence.

Call us today at (702) 656-0808 to schedule a free and confidential consultation.