Collateral Reasons to Fight a Domestic Violence Charge

Domestic violence convictions are very serious. They carry some of the harshest mandatory penalties for a simple misdemeanor conviction. In Nevada, a misdemeanor first-offense conviction carries, at the very least, the following mandatory-minimum penalties: (1) 2 days in jail; (2) six months of weekly domestic violence counseling classes; (3) 48 hours of community service; (4)…

Many of my domestic violence clients have questions and concerns about witnesses being subpoenaed to their trial settings. More specifically, they have questions and concerns about the alleged “victim” being subpoenaed to their trial. Service of Trial Subpoena Chapter 174 of the Nevada Revised Statutes governs trial subpoenas. A subpoena to appear at a misdemeanor…

In our previous Blog, entitled What is “domestic violence”?, we provided you with an analysis on the many acts that can qualify as “domestic violence.”  Many of these acts do not involve a “battery” or touching at all.  In this Blog, we solely examine battery domestic violence charges, the most common domestic violence charge.  So…

The defining characteristic of what separates “domestic violence” from other crimes is the nature of the relationship between the accused and the “victim”.  A crime can only be enhanced to constitute “domestic violence” if the accused and the complainant are connected by any one of a number of domestic relationships i.e. marriage (including ex’s), dating…